The WYPCA has supported health centers in Wyoming for over 20 years to help them serve their communities


Our Services-

Our Staff-

Executive Director
Jan Cartwright

Jan Cartwright has been the Executive Director for the past three years after beginning her work with the Wyoming Primary Care Association in 2009 as the Health Policy Director. She describes her move to the WYPCA as the smartest and luckiest event in her career.

Jan has worked in health policy for nearly 20 years and chaired several health and prevention focused coalitions, including the Natrona County Tobacco Use Prevention Coalition, the statewide Cardiovascular Disease Coalition, and Wyoming Coalition for Medicaid Solutions. She oversaw a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation grant that led to a significant cigarette tax increase and the first 100% smoke free Wyoming city ordinance in 2003 and 2004 respectively. In 2011, she was the lead on successful legislation that provided the first state grant funding that helped four Wyoming communities expand health care services to underserved populations.

She reports that the best part of her work is supporting the growth of Community Health Centers (aka FQHCs) in the state. Wyoming has won federal awards to open Health Centers in the last three funding cycles, which is a highly competitive process. She is proud to have strong collaborations within her own organization, the Community Health Centers and with many statewide partners.

Outside of work, she is a member of the leadership team for the Cheyenne League of Women Voters and has a keen interest in mental health and equity issues. Jan is a native of Casper, Wyoming and is proud of her blue-collar roots. She along with her father and both grandfathers worked in the “oil patch”. She has a BSW from the University of Wyoming/Casper College.  She has five grown children who are the biggest points of pride of her life. You can reach Jan at

Communications and Provider Services Manager

Hannah Wickey


Communication/Outreach and Enrollment Manager – Hannah Wickey joined the WYPCA in August 2014. She works with Wyoming Community Health Centers to help them enroll more Wyoming residents in the health insurance Marketplace. She strives to strengthen all communications for both the Primary Care Association and member Health Centers. She is also the point–of–contact surrounding issues on the homeless and the seasonal farm worker populations that reside in Wyoming. Hannah acts as one of two active ambassadors for National Health Service Corps to educate Wyoming students on scholarships and loan repayment programs in the hope of keeping Wyoming-trained primary care clinical staff in Wyoming.

Hannah prefers to work in a non–profit setting, where the focus is on mission rather than profits. She enjoys working and collaborating with the health centers to make health care more accessible to all Wyomingites. You can reach Hannah at:

Office Manager and Events Coordinator

Kathy Johnson


Office Manager/Events Coordinator – Kathy Johnson joined the WYPCA as Office Manager in April 2013. She has since taken on many roles to assist our member health centers. She provides training and technical assistance and coordinates anything and everything surrounding events both in and out of the office. Kathy has a wide range of experience in the health care industry including: physical therapy aide, front office staff, communication support for conferences and data integrity. Kathy has also dabbled in management. She holds an Associate’s from Fort Morgan Community College.


A long-time Wyoming resident, Kathy has been out-of-state for only two years out of her life. She and her husband are happy to call Cheyenne home. Kathy is the proud mom of a beautiful daughter, Mother in law to a great son in law and Grandma to a very handsome grandson. In her spare time she likes to be with her family and friends, play softball and go camping. You can reach Kathy at:

Health Policy & Community Integration Director

Mary Lynne Shickich


Health Policy – Mary Lynne Shickich is a third generation Wyoming native from Casper. For the past 20 years, she has served in numerous government and public relations leadership roles both at the state and federal levels. Prior to leading public policy at the Wyoming Primary Care Association, she served as the Vice President of External Affairs, Community Relations and Hospital Foundation at the Wyoming Medical Center in Casper. She also has served as the Senior Vice President at the Wyoming Hospital Association and as the National Grassroots Project Director at the American Hospital Association in numerous locations around the United States including Washington, DC. In her free time, she enjoys being outdoors. You can reach Mary at:

Clinical Quality Director
Grace Tena De Lara

Clinical Quality Director – Grace Tena De Lara joined the WYPCA team as Clinical Quality Director  in April 2018. She has a wealth of leadership, quality, risk, compliance, customer service, curricula development and process improvement experience. She has worked with large to mid-size inpatient and outpatient healthcare organizations in various states delivering outcome based initiatives and training clinical staff members. Her ability to lead organizational change toward positive outcomes to meet regulatory standards has placed Grace on a fast career track. Grace started her career in healthcare as a clinical data analyst, after 3 years she was promoted to executive coach and later was recruited to be a clinical quality manager. Throughout her career she had the opportunity to lead healthcare organizations through CMS and JACHO improvement standards.

While at the WYPCA, Grace strives to provide health centers with training and technical assistance to increase access to care, achieve operational excellence, improve health outcomes and to help reduce health disparities in our communities. There is no ask too big for her, so please don’t hesitate to contact Grace for your clinical quality needs at

Our Board-

CEO – HealthWorks
David Squires
Board President
CEO – Heritage Health Center
Colette Mild
Board Vice President
CEO – Community Health Centers of Central Wyoming
Cole White
Board Treasurer
Acting Director of Medical Education – Education Health Center of Wyoming
Joseph Steiner

Program Director – Crossroads

Melissa Ipsen

CMO – Community Action Partnership of Natrona County

Jennifer Taulealea, FNP

CEO – Montana Migrant and Seasonal Farmworkers Council
Carol Townsend
Picture coming soon!
CEO – Bear Lake Community Health Centers
LaVal Jensen
Picture coming soon!

Program Specialist – The Office of Rural Health

Keri Wagner

Ex-Officio Member

Comodo SSL